findings home/archives       contact us       other AHC publications   

May 2008 Issue

Terri Rutz, of Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, accepts her Nightingale Award from Joel Gemunder, of the award sponsor Omnicare.
RSS feed

Tristate Nurses Recognized at 16th Annual Awards Dinner

By Jill Hafner
Published May 2008

Being a nurse can be a tough job. But being on an awards selection committee to single out the Tristate’s most caring nurses might be even tougher.

Each year, the UC College of Nursing’s Board of Advisors are given the task of naming just 16 individuals out of a pool of hundreds of Greater Cincinnati nurses who best exemplify excellent direct patient care.

Those selected join other winners picked to receive the college’s coveted Florence Nightingale Awards for Nursing.

This year the board deliberated over 422 nominations submitted by community members for the 16th annual awards. The winning nurses were honored during an awards banquet held April 24.

“There’s something to be said about the quality of nursing in Cincinnati and beyond,” says Andrea Lindell, PhD, dean of the College of Nursing.

“We have one of the largest health networks in the country, further emphasizing the importance of recognizing exceptional caregivers.

“The critical work of a caring nurse requires a commitment and provision of health care to people which is first and foremost,” Lindell continues. “It’s this one-on-one interaction between a health care provider and a patient that signifies the true essence of patient care.”

Six nurses received the Florence Nightingale Awards, which included a bronze bust of Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing, and $1,000. Ten other finalists won Dean’s Awards, consisting of a plaque and $400.


Nightingale Awards winners:

  • Sheila Hicks, Cincinnati Health Department
  • Stacy Levi, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
  • Judy Monroe, Cincinnati Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center
  • Terri Rutz, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
  • Suzanne Smith, Shriners Hospitals for Children—Cincinnati
  • Karen Thompson, Cincinnati Health Department

Dean’s Award winners:

  • Teresa Borders, St. Luke Hospital East
  • Kristine Duke, Jewish Hospital
  • Loretta Hall, St. Luke Hospital East
  • Lori Hartman, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
  • Agnes Hudak, Mercy Hospital Anderson
  • Mary Kappesser, TriHealth
  • Margaret McLaughlin, Cincinnati Health Department
  • Missy Miles, St. Elizabeth Medical Center
  • Diana Moore, Cincinnati Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center
  • Cindy Wesolowski, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

For more information, including a listing of 2008 nominees, visit 

 back to list | back to top