findings home/archives       contact us       other AHC publications   

February 2009 Issue

Philip To matched with an orthopedic surgery residency at Vanderbilt University Medical Center
RSS feed

February News Extras

By Jill Hafner
Published February 2009

College of Medicine Match Day—March 19
The College of Medicine’s 2009 Match Day will be held at 11:30 a.m. Thursday, March 19, in Medical Sciences Building Room E-351. The event will also be shown on the big screen in Kresge Auditorium. Match Day is a national event where senior medical students find out where they will conduct their residency training. Students apply for residency training in their programs of choice, hoping to “match” with their preferred hospital and specialty when the results are announced. The National Residency Matching Program (NRMP) serves as a venue for matching the program preferences of students with those of residency program directors. To learn more about residency matching, visit For more information on the Match Day event, e-mail or call (513) 558-5577.

Professor Honored by Pharmacist Association
Andrea Wall, assistant dean and associate professor in the James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy, has been selected to receive the 2009 Keys Award by the Ohio Pharmacists Association (OPA) for outstanding contributions to the association. Wall will be honored during the OPA meeting on April 17. The OPA works to encourage interprofessional relations while promoting public health through education, discussion and legislation. For more information, visit

Pharmacy Dean Named Vice Chair of Board of Directors
Daniel Acosta, dean of the Winkle College of Pharmacy, was elected to serve as vice chair of the Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment (TERA) Board of Directors. TERA supports public health by developing, reviewing and communicating risk assessment values and analyses, improving risk methods through research, and educating risk assessors, and managers and the public on risk assessment issues. For more information, visit

Otten Named to U.S. Defense Health Board
Mel Otten, MD, professor of emergency medicine, has been appointed to the United States Defense Health Board (DHB). This is an extension to Otten’s membership on the Committee on Tactical Combat Casualty Care, which he has held for the last eight years. The DHB is a federal advisory committee providing independent scientific advice and recommendations to the U.S. Secretary of Defense with a mission to maximize the health, safety and effectiveness of the U.S. Armed Forces. In addition, Otten recently passed the toxicology boards, which gives him board certification in this discipline for the next 10 years.

2009 Hematological Malignancies Review
The 2009 review of hematological malignancies as presented at the American Society of Hematology annual meeting will be held from 8 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 28, at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Blue Ash. Guest faculty include James Armitage, MD, University of Nebraska; John Byrd, MD, Ohio State University; Harry Erba, MD, PhD, University of Michigan; Rami Komrokji, MD, Moffitt Cancer Center; and Ayalew Tefferi, MD, Mayo Clinic. The event is directed by Carl Siegrist, MD, associate professor of medicine at UC. All health care professionals working with hematological disorders are encouraged to attend. To register, call (513) 558-0120 or visit

Florence Nightingale Awards Nominations

The College of Nursing is accepting nominations for the 17th annual Florence Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing. The awards recognize professional nurses for their contributions to direct patient care.

Nominees must reside in the Greater Cincinnati area, be employed in the Greater Cincinnati area, be licensed as a registered nurse and demonstrate excellence in direct patient care. Nominations are accepted from patients, family and friends of patients, colleagues, physicians and other health care workers. Board of Advisors Nightingale Award winners receive $1,000 and a commemorative award. Dean’s Award winners receive $400. The final selection of the award recipients is made by a committee of the College of Nursing Board of Advisors.

All nominations must be postmarked by Friday, March 6. Winners will be honored at an awards banquet to be held Wednesday, April 22, at the Hyatt Regency Cincinnati. For more information, visit or call (513) 558-5311.

 back to list | back to top