findings home/archives       contact us       other AHC publications   

May 2009 Issue

RSS feed

UH Flight Nurse Honored at Nightingale Awards

By Angela Koenig
Published May 2009

As a flight nurse Diana Deimling has saved countless lives, though given her unaffected modesty, you’d never know it by talking to her. She epitomizes excellence ... I have difficulty conceiving that a more skilled flight nurse exists in the world. 


This is only a portion of the description William Hinckley, MD, presented to the UC College of Nursing’s nomination committee in hopes that Deimling—a University Hospital Air Care and Mobile Care nurse—would be recognized at the 17th annual Florence Nightingale Awards for Nursing.


And she was, along with five other top award winning nurses recognized at an April 22 ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, where Nightingale winners were presented a bronze bust of Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing, and $1,000.


Ten finalists were also honored with Dean’s Awards at the event and were presented a plaque and $400.


“The critical work of a caring nurse requires a commitment and provision of health care to people which is first and foremost,” says Andrea Lindell, PhD, College of Nursing dean.


“The one-on-one interaction between a health care provider and a patient signifies the true essence of patient care.”

Each year, the UC College of Nursing’s Board of Advisors pores over hundreds of nominations from all over the Greater Cincinnati area to determine who will win one of the 16 coveted awards.


This year the board deliberated over 244 nominations.


Another University Hospital nurse recognized at the event was Charlotte Theile, who received the Dean’s Award. 


Nightingale Award Winners:

    Tamara Bryant, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

    Linda Danko, Cincinnati Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center

    Diana Deimling, University Hospital

    Amy Kolbinsky, Cincinnati Health Department

    Becky Miars, Caregivers Health Network

    Mary Reddington, Hamilton County Board of Mental Retardation


Dean’s Award Winners:

    Brain Burkhardt, St. Luke Vascular Institute

    Cindy Chester, CMH Regional Health System

    Laura Horan, St. Luke East

    Thomas Jordan, Christ Hospital

    Leah Neiheisel, Cincinnati Health Department

    Barbara Rebennack, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

    Marian Riestenberg, Good Samaritan Hospital

    Julie Sullivan, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

    Charlotte Theile, University Hospital

    Stacey Wills, Cincinnati Health Department


Award winners were nominated by patients, family, friends of patients, colleagues, physicians and other health care workers. All nominees must have demonstrated excellence in direct patient care, live and be employed in the Greater Cincinnati area (Ohio, Kentucky and southern Indiana) and be a licensed registered nurse.


For more information, visit 

 back to list | back to top